Jeffrey Rusert Jefferson County

Legends of the Buffalo Bills: Honoring Hall of Fame Players

Since the OG owner, Ralph Wilson Jr., founded the Buffalo Bills in the American Football League in 1960, the team has had quite an impact. After all, the Bills remain as the only team to have appeared in four consecutive Super Bowls! While all players put in the work and effort, some Hall of Famers are forever remembered as true legends. 

From Bruce Smith, the notorious defensive end, to Joe DeLamielleure, the unmatchable guard, Jeffrey Rusert of Jefferson County says that the Buffalo Bills had the remarkable pleasure of hosting these formidable players on its roster. 

Jeffrey Rusert of Jefferson County

Defensive End Bruce Smith

1985 to 1999

Bruce Smith isn’t just one of the best DEs to have graced the Buffalo Bills franchise, he is one of the best to have blessed the National Football League as a whole. 

After starting his tenure with the team in 1985, Smith went on to amass more sacks (200) than anybody else in NFL history. He anchored the defense for 15 years, becoming the player who competed in the most seasons donning a Bills jersey.

Quarterback Jim Kelly

1986 to 1996

Taken in the 1983 NFL draft as the third quarterback, Jim Kelly’s QB class has developed into the best in the sport’s history. However, he didn’t actually want to play for the Bills at first. 

He played two seasons with the Houston Gamblers, throwing for 9,892 yards and racking up 83 touchdowns before heading to the Bills in 1986.

Kelly ended up leading the team to a 101-59 regular season record, solidifying spots in four back-to-back Super Bowls. He threw 237 touchdowns and completed 60.1% of his passes for 35,467 yards. Plus, he led 22 comebacks throughout his accoladed career. 

His play style made it impossible for defenses to substitute people, ensuring that the offense knew exactly what to do. This certainly played a role in him being named as a Pro Bowler five times and an All-Pro three times. 

Running Back OJ Simpson

1969 to 1979

When the Buffalo Bills picked OJ Simpson in the 1969 draft, he was one of the most lauded rookies, having won the 1968 Heisman Trophy and a two-time All-American accolade from the University of Southern California. 

In his career, he rushed for 11,236 yards and racked up 456 points on 76 touchdowns. However, he’s best remembered for his jaw-dropping 1973 season when he became the first running back to rush over 2,000 yards.

That wasn’t the only time he led the league in rushing, though. He showed them how it’s done in 1972, 1975, and 1976 as well.  

Jeffrey Rusert of Jefferson County

Wide Receiver Andre Reed

1985 to 1999

Andre Reed began wide receiving for the Bills throughout the Super Bowl years, catching 941 passes for a staggering 13,095 yards.

On a few occasions, people have nominated him for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, but he’s yet to earn this honor — a surprise considering how his 27 receptions for 353 yards in various Super Bowls put him among the best in NFL history. 

Guard Joe DeLamielleure

1973 to 1979

Joe DeLamielleure, alongside the rest of the offensive line, were called the “Electric Company” as they turned “the Juice loose.” 

Individually, DeLamielleure was a reliable, durable, and dependable player, participating in 185 straight games throughout his 13 seasons with the Bills. 

By Jeffrey Rusert

Jeffrey Rusert Jefferson County